Zakhana

Can we file I130?

6 posts in this topic

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting here. 

Me and my wife want to file the I130 later this year. Now, i did some research and some things are still pretty unclear for us. 

Let me just give you some background information on our situation. 

I am a US citizen who also has Dutch citizenship, currently residing on Aruba with my wife, who is also a Dutch citizen. I have lived here for most of my life and haven't lived in the States since i was 10, i am 26 years old now. I have never had a job in the United States either. There are a couple of issues we might be facing, let me address these. 

1) I have only had 3 jobs (None in the US) in my life as i have mostly been a student, i am currently finishing nursing school. My first job was a First-Aider/Emergency Medical Responder for an EMS company in the Netherlands. I worked here for about 2 years but not full time, just Pro re nata. (when necessary). Secondly, for a couple of months as a food delivery biker and lastly, i am currently working part time as a Vaccinator (2 weeks now). Will my lack of work experience (and lack of long term income) affect  my ability to sponsor my wife? From what i've read about, i can get a joint sponsor to help me, and i do have a couple of family in the U.S. who could help with this. 

2) Me and my wife both live abroad and will file I130 from abroad. I understand that later on in the process i will have to establish domicile in the United States. Is it really not possible to stay with my Wife on Aruba during the whole process? Can i not move to the States with her once everything is done and she gets the green light to move to the US? If this is not possible what can i do at the very least to prove to the US that i intend to move to the US with my Wife? (We would be moving in with family in the US while we get started on our new lives, finding jobs, an appartment etc)