Tagger

Mercedes Benz will not issue compliance letter!!!

6 posts in this topic

Hi everyone,

I have a 2015 Merc. C300 that I am looking to import into the US. Based on this thread - I reached out to MB to get a compliance letter. They responded to my email stating that the car does not comply with #101 - Instrument Cluster and #138 - TPMS of FMVVS. Following the email, my ask of them was to issue a letter stating that the car does not comply with the above regulations, in the hope that I can get an aftermarket kit installed as outlined in the thread below. 

The response from Merc. Benz was that they do not issue a compliance letter for cars that do not have TPMS installed!! Has anyone faced a similar issue? Do you think a print out of the email I have from Merc. Benz product compliance along with a letter from an authorized dealer will be sufficient? 

Really looking for some help from this forum!! 

I  

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Thailand
Timeline

I have some experience in this, imported and exported many cars to and from the United States. Mercedes, Subaru, and many other manufacturers are not going to issue a compliance letter. I have imported many models, and unless you have a really good reason to keep the car, sell it before you leave. I can guarantee for what it will cost you will be losing money. Any modifications to the vehicle to get it to pass inspection and qualify for import to the United States has to be done by a registered importer, you cannot just buy the parts you need and install them yourself. The registered importer also has to issue a Bond on the vehicle. Those are just a few of the more expensive things that need to be done to import a vehicle. You are welcome to reaserch it to get more accurate costs, but it is not cheap. Getting cars into the US is not too cut and paste. There are ways to skirt the system to an extent by removing the engine and importing as a parts vehicle, but then you run into inspection problems when you try to p