Michael1993

NVC said I don't meet the poverty guidelines but I do

11 posts in this topic

Hello,

Last Friday I received a message from the NVC saying they reviewed the AOS and that I do not meet the poverty guidelines and require a joint sponsor.

The crazy thing is that I make more than twice the minimum annual income requirement for a family of 2. I submitted a letter from my employer w/ salary information, my last 6 months of pay stubs, and my 2018 W2 all of which show that I make more than enough. My tax return transcripts for 2015-2017 were below the guideline because I was a full-time college student, but why should that matter if I exceeded the requirement last year and continue to exceed it?

Has anyone ever encountered this situation before? I called the number as was told that the NVC determined in their review that I do not meet the threshold, but that they do not adjudicate these matters and cannot provide any further information---I was again told that I should get a joint sponsor.  I sent one of those "Ask NVC" inquires last Friday and reattached all of my documentation. I'm still waiting to hear back.

How do they determine these things? It just seems so bizarre. My entire experience with the NVC has been nothing short of a nightmare.

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: Pakistan
Timeline
13 minutes ago, Michael1993 said:

Hello,

Last Friday I received a message from the NVC saying they reviewed the AOS and that I do not meet the poverty guidelines and require a joint sponsor.

The crazy thing is that I make more than twice the minimum annual income requirement for a family of 2. I submitted a letter from my employer w/ salary information, my last 6 months of pay stubs, and my 2018 W2 all of which show that I make more than enough. My tax return transcripts for 2015-2017 were below the guideline because I was a full-time college student, but why should that matter if I exceeded the requirement last year and continue to exceed it?