emmacaitlin

DOD Civilian for USAF moving overseas

11 posts in this topic

Hello!

I am a UK citizen currently residing in the USA with my husband. He is a DOD Civilian for the Air Force (not Active Duty) and it looks as though he is about to be offered a job back in the UK. If everything goes through, he will be issued government orders, which I will also be included on as his dependent.

I am a permanent resident green card holder, and I know that you are not supposed to reside outside of the USA for extended periods of time. Is it at simple as updating my address with USCIS? Or do I need to notify them in some other way of the government orders to ensure that I am not considered to be 'abandoning' my green card/right to live in the USA?

Thanks in advance!

You can start by applying for a I-131 reentry permit, in case plans change, but I believe if you stay abroad for more than 2 years it will expire, and you will need to apply for an SB-1. However, "There is an exception to this process for the spouse or child of either a member of the U.S. Armed Forces or civilian employee of the U.S. Government stationed abroad on official orders." I am not familiar with these exceptions but might be worth looking into:

https://travel.state.gov/content/travel/en/us-visas/immigrate/returning-resident.html

h

If you're on the orders then you're fine. Edit: your name needs to be on those orders ofc.  

You dont need reentry permit. 

Just update your address with uscis.  Your time in UK will be counted just as if youd be in the US.

Edited by Roel

K1

29.11.2013 - NoA1

06.02.2014 - NoA2

01.04.2014 - Interview. 

AoS

03.2015 - AoS started.

09.2015 - Green Card received.  

RoC

24.07.2017 - NoA1.

01.08.2018 - RoC approved. 

Perfect, that's exactly what I was hoping for. Of course, the USCIS helpline/military helpline can't give me a straight answer!