wryly

Moving from abroad to US to work to file I-134/I-184. How many months of salary do I need?

8 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: China
Timeline

I've been residing abroad for a few years. As I earn less than $100,000/year and take the foreign income exclusion, this reduces my total income (line 22 on a 1040) to 0. I have filed taxes for these years. I understand this disqualifies me from filing an I-134 or I-864 at this time. I plan to move to the US soon, gain employment, and work until we're required to submit an I-134 in six or seven months. My career pays well in the US so I'm not worried about failing to meet the 125% poverty line threshold in that timeframe, though I'm not sure I can hit the limit before filing taxes in April.

My question is this: will 5-6 months of work (maybe ~$40,000 gross income) in the US plus a letter from my employer stating my salary and the permanence of my position be sufficient to file an I-134 at the Embassy stage (in Guangzhou, China) and an I-864 at the AoS? If it is insufficient, would I be given a grace period to continue earning before filing, or would I need to start the process again? Is there a way for me to slow this process down without cancelling it so I can earn more before filing these documents?

I realize a joint sponsor would be ideal, but my family members are worried about potential financial liability, which I understand. I'm trying to figure out how to do this without a joint sponsor. Thanks for any advice you can give.

Here's my recent timeline for those interested:

8/3 - Adjustment of Status Interview

8/3 - Status Update: New Card is Being Produced

8/5 - Status Update: Case Was Approved

8/20 - Status Updated: Card Was Mailed To Me

8/27 - Received Card in Mail

Timeline

Also, if I choose to withdraw the K1 application in order to give myself more time, will that hurt my chances when filing it again a few months later?

Edited by wryly

Filed: Lift. Cond. (apr) Country: China
Timeline