torontoim

Importing an exported US car from Canada back into the US

8 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

Good afternoon everybody,

I wanted to ask about an usual situation. I bought my car from the United States while I was a student in 2009. I imported it into Canada after completing my studies in 2014.

I recently got my spousal green card, got a job in the United States and I plan to import the car back into the US when I travel in a couple of weeks.

Seeing as this car was manufactured in the US and I am reimporting it back (I have the bill of sale from the American dealership, it has the EPA compliant label under the hood,  and I have the label from the Canadian RIV- Registrar of Imported Vehicles) , would I need any other special paperwork or the compliance letter from the manufacturer? I know the CBP website has the DOT and EPA forms but would this vehicle be exempt since it’s American?

I know I should wait to cancel my Canadian auto insurance until after I’ve gotten my DMV registration and US auto insurance, but is there anything else I need to do in Canada to notify the Ministry of Transportation that I’m importing this car to the US?

I just want to make sure I’m prepared and don’t get surprised at the border or afterwards if I didn’t tie up loose ends in Ontario. Thanks!

Edited by torontoim

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: El Salvador
Timeline

@torontoim, CBP has a page concerning bringing back a car that originated in the U.S.; https://www.cbp.gov/travel/clearing-cbp/automobiles:

U.S. Residents Importing and Exporting Vehicles