Elethiomel

2017 Taxes as K1 in Adjustment

9 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

So.. I've a fairly simple situation which is that I planned to opt to be a resident for tax purposes for 2017 since I had no foreign income and it's more logical for us to file jointly.

I entered on a K1 on August 18, Married October 6 (49 days after entry) and until my marriage was only on UK based travel insurance for those 49 days.. this travel insurance probably isn't ACA compliant.

If I'm a resident alien for the whole year for tax purposes does this mean I'm going to incur the individual mandate penalty for all the months before we married? Even though I was outside the US till August?

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

It depends. When you got married, did your spouse put you on their insurance, and do you have any coverage now?

Im unaware of whether or not they could penalize you prior to your holding a green card, but I was advised at my K1 and AOS interviews to get of American insurance as soon as I was married. 

44 minutes ago, Elethiomel said:

So.. I've a fairly simple situation which is that I planned to opt to be a resident for tax purposes for 2017 since I had no foreign income and it's more logical for us to file jointly.

I entered on a K1 on August 18, Married October 6 (49 days after entry) and until my marriage was only on UK based travel insurance for those 49 days.. this travel insurance probably isn't ACA compliant.

If I'm a resident alien for the whole year for tax purposes does this mean I'm going to incur the individual mandate penalty for all the months before we married? Even though I was outside the US till August?

I remember having the same issue and asked the accountant - there wasn't a fine or anything.