WillMcK

K1 Visa how to get started?

11 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: New Zealand
Timeline

Hey Team I hope all is well

My Fiance and I currently living in Australia.

I am from New Zealand, She is from the USA(bay area) She is moving back to the US at the end of the year for good. How do I move over with her using the K1 Visa?

I have a degree in Computer Sciences and a good job if this helps.

We have a  wedding date may 4th in the US

We meet during a study abroad back in 2010 have been together for ever since (7 years or so) if that helps and we have currently been living together for a year and a half. 

I have been to the US to visit her and her family 6 to 7 times while we were dating long distance and another 3 times with her while we have been living together with 2 more trips planed this year. 

Thank you and have a great day :) 

Edited by WillMcK

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

A May 4th wedding probably won't work. It takes 8-12 months for a K1 visa right now. My fiance and me applied back in June and he still hasn't has his interview yet. And if you are to marry during the K1 visa, you will have to withdraw the K1 petition and restart on the CR1 visa

If you're going to have a wedding in May, get marry first and then file for CR1 (12-14 months process). It's cheaper and you will be able to work right away.

How are you going to marry in may and do the fiancé visa?

Please tell me you haven’t booked and paid for may wedding thinking it will be processed by then?

or did you mean may 2019?

Edited by Illiria

K-1 Met:2002 Dating :2003 I-129F Sent : 2013-06-01 I-129F NOA2 : 2013-08-20 Medical: 2013-12-20 Interview Date : 2014-01-22 POE: 2014-02-19 Wedding: 2014-03-18

AOS/EAD Date Filed : 2014-04-04 BioAppt: 2014-05-13 EAD in Production: 2014-07-08 Interview date: 2014-07-14 Green Card received: 2014-07-19