Sunshine21

Nervous about my upcoming N400 interview

5 posts in this topic

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: Russia
Timeline

Hello everyone,

Ive been following this forum few years ago and it was very helpful. This is my first time asking a question and I hope to get some opinions.

Here is my story:

I received my GC through a marriage to USC in December 2010. Everything was fine - conditions on I-751 were removed without RFE or interview in May of 2013. I applied for my citizenship in Septemeber 2013 under the 3 year rule and I went for my interview. During the interview the officer requested more evidence that we still were living in the marital union. By that time me and my ex-husband were already having problems but we're trying our best to work them out. I didn't really have anything to add to the packet I sent along with my N400 so I just submitted one more affidavit from my friend and called it a day. I got the letter later saying that I didn't present enough evidence of a valid martial Union and that my n400 was denied.

In March of 2014 I moved to a different state as I found the job of my dreams. My ex-husband didn't go with me even though it was always a plan of ours since the beginning. Later in July 2014 he filled for divorce which was finalized in January 2015.

This September I decided to apply again based on a 5 year rule and I just received my interview letter.

So my question is - could my previous denial 2 years ago be a reason for the denial this year?

I would appreciate any thoughts/ideas you might have or maybe there is someone who had a similar case in the past.

Thanks in advance!

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Tunisia
Timeline