ezzie

Continuing College in the US

5 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-2 Country: Philippines
Timeline

Good day, VJ community.

I am in need of your help/ personal experiences/ professional knowledge/ inputs, and anything else that will help. Thank you in advance!

My son ( USC ), went back to our birth country to study college ( BS Industrial Engineering). It was his choice. He has now decided to stay in the US to continue his education. He is coming to the US in the next few weeks, and I am asking him to bring his documents with him.

Please let me know:

1) What documents he needs to bring with him, aside from his transcripts..

2) How the subjects/ courses he already passed in our country will be accredited here, so he does not have to re-take them

I have no college experience in the US ( arrived with a degree and had no problems); so I am at a loss on how everything works here.

Please enlighten this mother! :)

Filed: Country: Vietnam (no flag)
Timeline

Hi,

1. U.S. colleges will want only official transcripts sent from the school. The transcripts he has will be good for referencing, but will not be accepted. Too many people with fraudulent transcripts, so only official transcripts from the schools are considered reliable.

2. It will be up to his school. Most likely, he will have to retake the classes because there is no way for the school to evaluate the quality or content of his classes abroad.

I've worked at a major university evaluating international students' transcripts and placing them in classes. An official transcript was always required. Credit was only given for classes at particular universities that we had agreements with and had a chance to evaluate the quality of each class. If there was no agreement or the class was not on the accepted list, the student was not given credit.

Best of luck

Edited by aaron2020