2 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Well, I am done with the process. I took my oath in Houston this morning and I am proud to be a US citizen. I want to update everybody on some questions I had a while back regarding traveling during the process.

I have to travel a lot for work. Since it's for business purposes, they are normally short trips, but very frequent. I filled two passports in the 5 years I was a resident.

My recommendations:

1. I created a spreasheet when I became a resident and logged all my trips. I used airline records whenever I forgot to update it for a while. I strongly suggest doing this. If you only have a couple of stamps on a passport it's not a big deal, but if you travel often, filling out the information form your passport will be a mess, especially since some countries (like Mexico and the US) don't stamp on the way out and if you have Global Entry (like me) you don't get stamped on the way into the US.

2. I sent copies of every page of the two passports I used during my LPR time with my application. I didn't read that anywhere, but the IO said it was a good idea.

3. Keep updating the spreadsheet for any travel between the application and the interview. I did not do this because I wrongfully thought the physical presence requirement was up to the time of the application.

My decision was still delayed a few days after my interview (my wife had the interview the same day and got the decision on the spot). It only took 3 days for the status to change to "Oath will be Scheduled". I think it was mainly because of my travel between the application and the interview. They had to make sure I was still here. The IO has access to all your travel records and they double check the information you send if physical presence is an issue.