mantis21

Don't know where to start

3 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

Hello all,

I am new here and please forgive me if I have put this in the wrong forum.

My story is this. I have been to the US twice over the last 18 months on the VWP for around 15 days at a time. I have a US girlfriend and we have been together now for almost two years. She has visited me too in the UK for longer periods of time. Okay to cut a long story short.

We want to marry in the future. We can't go the Fiancé route as we are not ready to marry just yet due to circumstance I want to keep private. Now my girlfriends brother is disabled and needs someone to be with him during the day, and night too. He is elderly suffering with heart problems and diabetes. I am an ex EMT and they wondered whether they could offer me employment as his home carer. Live there with him, (my girlfriend would not be living there) and look after his medical needs, while we wait to marry in the future. I am not looking to circumvent any imigration rules or laws.

Would a work Visa be a possibilty for me to do this? Is there another way I could do this? I really am totally confuesed with all the Visa's that are available.

I also have the opportunity to study part time at a martial arts school to obtain teaching credentials. Is a student Visa a possibilty? I am 55 years of age by the way. So this is only a passing thought.

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

Student visas are issued to potential students who are chasing a degree program, I assume your martial arts program is not a degree program right?

Secondly, to chase a work visa, your girlfriend would have to show that no other US citizen is able to do that work. you said yourself, you are an ex EMT, not even currently working as one. In your opinion, do you think that is possible?

Others will help you out if they have other ideas.

good luck

USCIS