sidelcampeador

Driver license Houston Texas

18 posts in this topic

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Argentina
Timeline

Hi. I have the green card and the drivers online course certificate since im not 25 yet. Do i need to take the skill exam? i have my valid foreign license and I've been driving for 5 years. would it be dangerous to go by myself to the dps with my wife's car?

09/21/2016 NOA1

10/18/2016 Biometrics

Hi. I have the green card and the drivers online course certificate since im not 25 yet. Do i need to take the skill exam? i have my valid foreign license and I've been driving for 5 years. would it be dangerous to go by myself to the dps with my wife's car?

For a Texas Driver license, you will take a written test (multiple choice questions on a computer) and a driving test in your vehicle with a DPS Highway patrolman aka State Trooper. The written test will get you a learner's permit where you can drive with a licensed driver. If you feel okay with your skills, you can sign up for the driving test as soon as you wish. Most of the Houston DPS Offices have you make an appointment online for the driving test, rather than walk in and ask to take it. Look up the requirements of documents you need to bring with you in order to take the written test.

I wouldn't personally drive myself to the road test. Going to the written test, nobody sees how you got there so it doesn't matter too much. Taking the road test you have the officer sitting in your front seat who can ask how you got there. Then he might ask how long you have lived in Texas. If more than 90 days, then they say you only have 90 days to get a TX license. Believe me, they do not understand immigration laws and if you can or can't get a license within 90 days. So to avoid the hassle, I would have somebody drive me.

England.gifENGLAND ---

K-1 Timeline 4 months, 19 days 03-10-08 VSC to 7-29-08 Interview London

10-05-08 Married

AOS Timeline 5 months, 14 days 10-9-08 to 3-23-09 No interview