Soyz

Applying for citizenship from another country

13 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Mexico
Timeline

I just got offered a job in Mexico for 2 years, I have been a permanent resident for more than five years and fulfilled the requirements but never really got to applying for citizenship (bc I'm an idiot)...

Do you think I can send my application before I leave to Mexico and then when I get my call I can fly back to the US and take the oath? Or that can't be done?

It's a really good job offer than can't be refused and the opportunity of a lifetime, but I worked hard to get my green card as well and I don't want to lose it!

Hope you guys can help me out please :-)

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Egypt
Timeline

I just got offered a job in Mexico for 2 years, I have been a permanent resident for more than five years and fulfilled the requirements but never really got to applying for citizenship (bc I'm an idiot)...

Do you think I can send my application before I leave to Mexico and then when I get my call I can fly back to the US and take the oath? Or that can't be done?

It's a really good job offer than can't be refused and the opportunity of a lifetime, but I worked hard to get my green card as well and I don't want to lose it!

No. You cannot apply for citizenship from abroad except under very special circumstances that don't seem to apply here.

Your application will be denied and depending on how long you're gone, your greencard can be revoked.

If the job can't be postponed or refused, then you'll have to abandon your desire to become a US citizen.

Until you become a US citizen, you are only a permanent resident. If you apply and tell USCIS that you live in Mexico and plan to stay there, you are effectively informing them that you have decided to abandon your permanent resident status. The fact that you have reached the point that you can apply for citizenship does not change that.

Edited by JimmyHou