Jacque67

North American Indian Headdresses

22 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

Please explain.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2664707/Khloe-Kardashian-slammed-posing-feathered-American-Indian-headdress-North-Wests-birthday-party-dubbed-Kidchella.html

When someone wears a yukata or quasi kimono , no one here in Japan complains of racism. As I work in the fashion industry I am curious is to why Native Americans get upset by this.

My friends and I think headdresses are cool.

Why is it offensive - and no, I am not baiting. Living in a different country I am curious as to this state of affairs in the US.

Timeline

Surely everyone knows that Japan is the model of world morality.

Ha ha!

But my question is about headdresses . We're Native Americans forced to wear them by white folk??? Iwhere is the offence?

Seriously want to know.

Timeline

You already know that American Indians were no more forced to don their tribal wear any more than the Japanese harpoon and eat thousands of whales under the guise of research.

Yeah . I thought I might have been missing something.

So why is the headdress considered offensive , is my question?

Edited by Jacque67

Filed: Other Timeline

Yeah . I thought I might have been missing something.

So why is the headdress considered offensive , is my question.p?

Are you feigning naivety to make a point of how knee-jerk world liberalism has become toward anyone who claims to be offended?

Timeline

Are you feigning naivety to make a point of how knee-jerk world liberalism has become toward anyone who claims to be offended?

Seriously. No joke. I and my Japanese friends just don't get it.

Btw, until I visited NY 2 years ago I had no idea who Kim Kardashian was- she doesn't feature in news here. I find American low brow culture fascinating . I was glued to early afternoon shows whilst working out at Equinox!!!!

Timeline