liews0524

Adjustment of Status - HELP

7 posts in this topic

Filed: F-1 Visa Country: Malaysia
Timeline

Hi,

I graduated from my master program in the United States a week ago and my application for Optional Practical Training (OPT – Form I-765) just got approved. I am also selected for diversity visa 2015 program and I have few questions regarding the further processing of diversity visa lottery.

According to the instructions for diversity immigrant visa program, I may apply to USCIS for adjustment of status to permanent resident but not DS-260 Immigrant Visa and Alien Registration Application. Therefore, I should apply through USCIS instead of Department of State because I am legally residing in the United States. Is that true? It also seems like I have a higher probability of getting the visa, is that right?

My fiancée and I are thinking to get married this year but we are wondering if that would influence/disqualify the visa application. Can anyone provide some guidance in my situation?

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Hi,

I graduated from my master program in the United States a week ago and my application for Optional Practical Training (OPT Form I-765) just got approved. I am also selected for diversity visa 2015 program and I have few questions regarding the further processing of diversity visa lottery.

According to the instructions for diversity immigrant visa program, I may apply to USCIS for adjustment of status to permanent resident but not DS-260 Immigrant Visa and Alien Registration Application. Therefore, I should apply through USCIS instead of Department of State because I am legally residing in the United States. Is that true? It also seems like I have a higher probability of getting the visa, is that right?

My fiancée and I are thinking to get married this year but we are wondering if that would influence/disqualify the visa application. Can anyone provide some guidance in my situation?