Mmelon

Just beginning the K-1 process

16 posts in this topic

Hi,

I am new here on the forum. I studied abroad in Costa Rica last year for four months and met a guy. We started dating soon after, and I went back to visit for 6 weeks just recently and we decided we want to get married! I just graduated from college with a bachelors degree and lots of student loans to pay off and am still without a job. My fiance is a Costa Rican citizen and does not have an education and does not speak any English. Although I would love to go to Costa Rica and get married and live there, my student loans make it kind of impossible right now. So I want to bring him here to the US, and I am thinking the K-1 visa is the quickest way to do it. I think that I can handle beginning the process, but I am not sure at all how to manage the interview and documents for my finace while I am here and he is in Costa Rica. He is from a very rural area and has no knowledge of any of the legal processes and cannot write very well. Also the mail system in Costa Rica is very unreliable (especially in rural areas) so sending documents takes forever and may or may not get there. I am looking for some people who may know the process well to help walk me through the steps and give me any advice! I am really excited to marry my guy, but super stressed about this visa process! Thanks for any and all help!

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Saudi Arabia
Timeline

U need to have a co dlonsor since both of u doesnt have income. In terms if address, i know embassies uses DHL or fedex no worries about that...

U need to have a co dlonsor since both of u doesnt have income. In terms if address, i know embassies uses DHL or fedex no worries about that...

I would be very surprised if FedEx or DHL could access the place my fiance lives. Addresses there are really confusing such as "The house 50 meters east of the school and 300 meters west of the fruitstand with the red roof."