jo_islandgirl

Citizenship of minor

6 posts in this topic

Timeline

Hi - My US Citizen husband and I are recently divorced and I am a permanent Resident since 11/05/2007. My 16 years old daughter is resident since 09/03/2009. I am planning to file my US Citizenship Application Form N-400 in September 2012 on my own. I also would like to include my daughter in this application by filling out form N-600 - Application for Certificate of Citizenship.

I am aware that after I obtain my US citizenship , my minor children are automatically US citizens. But even though it is not required, there are many advantages to apply for certificate of naturalization for the minor children. My question is: will it be a problem for me to file the form N-600 since she would have not reached the cap time of 5 years being a permanent resident prior application of citizenship. Or is it alright since she is still a minor?

Thank you in advance for your response:-)

Edited by jo_islandgirl

Filed: Country:
Timeline

No it won't be a problem.

What advantage is there to donating several hundred dollars to get her a document that she doesn't need?

Once you've naturalized you can simply get her a US Passport and Passport Card to prove that she's a US Citizen. You'd most likely get the passport anyway and if not at about $100 it's a lot cheaper than the N-600.

Timeline

No it won't be a problem.

What advantage is there to donating several hundred dollars to get her a document that she doesn't need?

Once you've naturalized you can simply get her a US Passport and Passport Card to prove that she's a US Citizen. You'd most likely get the passport anyway and if not at about $100 it's a lot cheaper than the N-600.