huntr

Safest immigration option for my situation?

6 posts in this topic

Filed: TN Visa Country: Mexico
Timeline

Hi all, great site with lots of useful information :) I just wasn't able to find a thread with my exact situation, so I was wondering if I can get some input on how to proceed here...

I've been working in USA for 2 months on a TN visa, I also have a US-citizen girlfriend (known each other for 6 years, been dating for 2, lots of evidence to support legit relationship, etc.)

As I understand, the TN visa has the requirement of "no intention to immigrate" when you get it... well my problem is that I now want to get married, but I really do not want to jeopardize my future entrances to the country, and I certainly don't want to lose my job (it's kind of my dream job!). Also the TN I was given has to be renewed yearly, the next renew is due in late December...

So what should I do? It would obviously be great if I could eventually get a green card through marriage, but I would definitely be ok with just being married and keep working on my TN for now, I'm just worried I'll run into trouble when I try to renew my TN and the fact that I'm married gets brought up... I'm not even sure if AoS is available for TNs... What seems like the safest option here?

Thanks for any assistance you can provide, and I'm sorry if this is the wrong section!

Edited by huntr

Even people comes on Visa Waive then get married and adjust status. So if you relationship is real, then you go for it. All non-immigrant visas are not for intention to adjust status, but they still do it if it is legit. So good luck, and make sure you are ready for a family.

N400

12/06/2014: Package filed

12/31/2014: Fingerprinted

02/06/2015: In-Line for Interview

04/15/2015: Passed Interview

05/05/2015: Oath letter was sent

05/22/2015: Oath Ceremony

Filed: Other Country: Russia
Timeline