davido

DCF Visa questions about I-130, DS-230, I-864

4 posts in this topic

I've been spending countless hours researching this forum (and the USCIS / NVC sites) in order to create a master document of every single detail and action item that I need to do to go from Filing the I-130 petition here in Peru to eventually apply for citizenship for my wife in US. I'm a USC that just got married to a lovely Peruvian woman in December, 2011. I have my Carné de Extranjería for Peru (I've been working here for a non-profit since 2008).

I still have some lingering questions though about some specific details if anybody has some insight, I'd really appreciate it as I'm trying to apply for this visa very soon!

1. Originally, I thought the process was I-130 submission and approval (step one), then we submit the DS-230 and other documents (step 2), then they inform us later when the interview is and we schedule and go to the interview in person (step 3). I just got an email from the Consular Section in Lima telling me that after the I-130 approval my wife has to bring all the documents they request (including the DS-230) in person to the interview (I was hoping to be able to mail them for step 2).

Now it seems like first I have to get the I-130 petition approved (with tons of other documents like the G-325a, various proofs, etc.) with USCIS (step 1), then they send me the official approval of the I-130 and WITH that approval they tell us all the documents we will need to go along with the DS-230 AND the interview date which is when we submit the paperwork (interview and simultaneous DS-230 & accompanying documents submission is step 2)? Is this last sentence correct?