Watermelonmelon

19 year old - citizenship through (grand/)parents?

6 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hey everyone - I'm completely new to this so sorry if this topic has already been discussed or if I posted in the wrong section!

Basically - I am 19 years old and a UK citizen, and have lived in the UK all my life. My father is registered as a US Citizen born abroad, but has lived in England most of his life (he has lived in the US for short periods in the past and graduated from a US High School). He currently has US Citizenship and a US passport, although he resides in England. My father's mother was born in the US and is a US citizen, although she was at one point a Permanent Resident of the UK through marriage - she is now divorced and lives in the USA, and has done for the last 20 years.

The research I have done online suggests that, in order for me to beome a US Citizen, action would have had to be taken before I turned 18 - since this date has now passed, I would like to know if there is any way I can obtain Citizenship or Lawful Permanent Residence on the grounds of my family? What would be (if any) the easiest way for me to legally move to the US?

I am considering applying for a student visa in order to study for a Bachelors Degree in the US - if I chose to do so, would I be able to apply for Citizenship/LPR during/after the course of my studies?

Thank you for any help/advice!!

Filed: Country: Vietnam (no flag)
Timeline

Hey everyone - I'm completely new to this so sorry if this topic has already been discussed or if I posted in the wrong section!