braffy

TN or H-1B?

29 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Canada
Timeline

Hi all,

Just stumbled across this great website, it's been very informative and seems so friendly so far! I'm in a bit of a unique situation and would appreciate some advice/feedback from the experts here.

I am a Canadian citizen married to a US citizen for 10 years. We've lived in Canada and (currently) the Netherlands but have never lived in the USA yet.

I just accepted a job offer at Harvard that will begin in Jan-Feb 2012. I have a PhD and will be working as a scientist. My wife and daughter can enter the country without difficulty by virtue of their US passports. Unfortunately starting now it will take too long to apply for a spousal visa before my job starts, so we were thinking of doing it after we arrived in the US.

I was originally planning to enter with a TN visa as it seemed to be the simplest and cheapest for a Canadian citizen for this type of job. However, I now realize that it might be a challenge to get approved for this at the border since I'm married to a US citizen, and are planning to apply for a spousal green card once in the country. I realize that this would seem to go against the spirit of the TN visa, as it is not a dual intent visa. However, the honest truth is that we have no specific intention to stay in the US once my 3-5 year job is completed, and that I would only be applying for a green card for convenience sake, and just in case we decided to stay longer.

Now I am wondering if it would be better to apply for a H-1B. Is this something that can be applied for at the border? What do I need my employer to do? What is the time frame? If I got a H-1B it's no problem to apply for a spousal green card right away, correct?

What do you think? TN or H-1B? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Edited by braffy

Hi all,