6 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Mexico
Timeline

Hi, I'm a newbie! Great website folks!

But I'm confused because the CR-1 Guide links to an I-130 guide. (?)

For someone just coming on to this website ...What is the CR-1 process?

My wife and I got married 2 weeks ago here in California. She is here on a tourist visa.

First, she goes back to Mexico and from there applies at a US Consulate for a CR-1 visa?

While that is going on I send in our I-130 to USCIS?

Then USCIS forwards our I-130 petition to someone (US Dept. of State?) and after 6 months or so she will be able to enter the US legally and stay in the US while we continue with the process?

She needs to leave now, before we file the I-130?

Thanks in advance!

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Mexico
Timeline

Hi, I'm a newbie! Great website folks!

But I'm confused because the CR-1 Guide links to an I-130 guide. (?)

For someone just coming on to this website ...What is the CR-1 process?

My wife and I got married 2 weeks ago here in California. She is here on a tourist visa.

First, she goes back to Mexico and from there applies at a US Consulate for a CR-1 visa?

While that is going on I send in our I-130 to USCIS?

Then USCIS forwards our I-130 petition to someone (US Dept. of State?) and after 6 months or so she will be able to enter the US legally and stay in the US while we continue with the process?

She needs to leave now, before we file the I-130?

Thanks in advance!

Hi :) CR-1 process is how your going to get you wife to the US. She won´t be applying at the consulate, you will send the I-130 here in the US. If you want her to be with you you might be looking into K3, but in my opinion I think you should just wait it out and stick to the CR-1 process which is aprox 8months give or take. I am doing that and I know that the wait sucks but I think its the best way!

Ask me if you have any other questions! Good Luck! :star:

Sent I-130---------6/6/11

NOA1---------------6/10/11