nyahkon

Filing I-130 in Japan

5 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

First, to confirm, the I-864 is collected during your spouse's final interview, correct? However, if you bring it with you to the initial I-130 interview so they can make sure everything is filled out correctly will they just go ahead and take it then?

Second, will they automatically flag your file if you don't have all three years of tax transcripts attached (even though it says they only require one for the most recent tax year)? I have two years of transcripts for me and all three years for my parent (the sole joint sponsor).

I don't believe I filed my 2008 taxes, so if they dig too deep I am worried it will screw everything up. I have an appointment at the embassy soon and can't afford to make any mistakes with this.

Is missing one year of filing three years ago an automatic rejection?

If the I-864 is indeed not collected until my spouse's final interview that will give me time to back-file my 2008 taxes before she goes in. If not, I'm not sure how to handle my upcoming appointment. I am hoping they will simply focus on my parent's taxes (since I will fail the income requirements, thus making my parent's income the basis for qualification) and not investigate mine too far beyond the most recent year (or two).

Any information or advice would be much appreciated.

Thank you.

Edited by nyahkon

Filed: Lift. Cond. (apr) Country: China
Timeline

Then again, since my I-864 will be flat-out rejected anyhow, does it really matter whether or not all of my taxes have been filed? What's most important is that all of my sponsor's taxes check out, no?

Perhaps I'm really reaching here, heh.