Emelie

Big problem DS-230

7 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Timeline

Hi. I have a question about how to fill out a question on my DS-230

So to shortly tell my story. Before me and my husband got engaged (or married as we are now), at the time when he was only my boyfriend I decided to apply for a student visa. I was a student here before and I just planning on studying there. I went to the embassy in Stockholm Sweden (were student visas are generally given out very easy) although, I had my husbands parents as my sponsors and when I was asked if he was my boyfriend, I simply and stupid enough lied. The lady who interview me did not believe me and therefore denied my visa. We shortly thereafter got married and are now in the immigration process. We have both been living in Sweden since we got married and he will attend at the embassy with me.

To my question. At the DS-230 part 2 question 40 (F) It states as fallow - "An alien who failed to attend a hearing on deportation or inadmissbility within the last 5 years, who seeks or has sought a visa, entry into the United States, or any immigration benefit by fraud or mispresentation, who knowingly assisted any other alien to enter or try to enter the united states in violation of law, who, after November 30, 1996 attended in a student visa, visa status of U.S. public elementary school or who attended a U.S. public secondary school without reimbursing the school, or who is a subject to a civil penatly under UNA 274 C"

So the part that Im unsure about is the "BY FRAUD OR MISPRESENTATION" cause yes, when I was asked I wasnt honest, we had a serious relationsship but we were not engaged or had plans to get married at that time. So to get to the point, will I have to fill out "YES or a NO" in that box? I do not at all wanna be dishonest. And how would they handle the application if I put a yes?

Greatfull for all ur help! Love Emelie