SwedeInCali

On OPT with expired F1 applying for AOS

7 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Sweden
Timeline

I would really appriciate some help on this matter which keeps me up at night.

I came to California on a F1 Dec 2009 and studied at UCSD for 9 months. Was approved for OPT which started Sept 2010 and is valid to Sept 2011. In October 2010 I had to go back to Sweden for two weeks, I didn't have a job at the time but a job offer starting Nov 1st 2010 which I needed to get back into the US on OPT. The problem turned out to be my F1 which expired on Sept 17 2010, the same day I graduated. There are no excuses for me not checking that, there were a lot of miscommunication at the time. Back at LAX I had to go to the admissibility review which took me about 3 hours but I was finally cleared and let back into the country again.

My American boyfriend proposed last weekend and we are now starting to investigate this whole process. We went through the I-485, where I need to state my USCIS status which is expired (since OPT is not a status right?) and then they will see that my last entry was after it expired. Does anyone know if this will cause any problems. I mean, I was let into the country so I am not here illegally and I am working fulltime, got a SSN, California driver's license etc. I will of course submit my I-20 in the application, but will this matter just be something I will need to explain in the interview or might it cause problems before that? I really don't want to slow the process down, I will need my AP since we are planning a trip to Australia in August 2011.

I would appriciate any thoughts on this!

Thanks!

J

Edited by SwedeInCali

Are you still awake? I just came across your posting and thought I respond to it with my thoughts....