LienAn

How long after approval should you get your green card?

5 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Belgium
Timeline

My husband and I had our interview yesterday, and I got approved for permanent residency. The lady that did the interview took my EAD and said my Advance Parole document is now no longer valid.

My problem is, I have a trip planned on December 4th. She told I "should" have my green card by then (she said some people get it 2 weeks after the interview, 4 weeks at most), but I just don't wanna risk not having any documentation to travel. She said that if I didn't have my green card by my departure date, that I could make an Infopass appointment at my local office, where I could get some kind of letter stating that I am a lawful permanent resident, but that I just don't have the actual card yet, so that I can travel. However, when I tried to make an appointment for about a month from now, just in case, like always there were no longer any appointments available. It makes me a little bit nervous. I'm just trying to see what other people's experience has been with this.

This is not a conditional green card, I don't know if that makes any difference in the processing time.

I have a couple other questions, not related to this, but just in case anyone can answer them for me:

- I have a social security card that says it can only be used with authorization to work from Homeland Security. Am I supposed to get a new one now, or doe this not matter?

- Do I HAVE to have my married name on my passport? I never changed it, since I haven't traveled internationally in about 3 years now. I did book my ticket under the exact name that's on my passport. I will take my marriage certificate with me. Will I have any issues with this? And am I legally obliged to change it?

Thank you so much for your time !!

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Jamaica
Timeline