dontletsstart

Newbie with unusual situations

6 posts in this topic

Hello all,

I'm new to the forum, just got engaged last week!! I'm from the states, and my fiance is from Peru, but we live together in Spain. We've been together for nearly 3 years now and have been planning on getting engaged and moving to the states for awhile. I've looked into the fiance visa process, but have some questions that I hope you can answer.

1) My fiance is Peruvian, but has lived in Spain for 8 years and is now a Spanish citizen as well, so he has dual citizenship. I assume we need to turn in his Peruvian birth certificate, but do we need to provide info about his Spanish nationality? His ID card is from Spain. Can we explain in the cover letter his nationality situation and just provide the documents that support that?

2) I'm currently a grad student in Spain, I'll be graduating at the end of the month. (yay!) My plan was to stay in Spain until the end of the year, then go home to find a job. Unfortuately, this means I won't be working and won't have any income to show them. My parents have agreed to co-sponsor, so that shouldn't be an issue. I'm just worried that they'd deny him because I haven't had a job due to school and work restrictions for international students in Spain. I would go home now and find a job immediately to avoid the whole situation, but my fiance will be having sugery in the fall, and since things move slowly with the NHS, we don't know exactly when. I'd like to be here with him for that. Obviously, if it comes down to being with him or having his visa approved, I'll go for the later. I just wanted to run this situation by some people who might have some insight.

I hope all of this makes sense. Any advice at all is welcome!

Thank you!

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: China
Timeline

1. assume the interview will be in Spain, yes? Focus on police clearance certificates from Peru and Spain, will be needed on interview day - learn how to get those.