StarA

Please some quick questions about adjustment

16 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Timeline

Hi!

All I need is some quick answers....

Been going through the forums here, at least 1 hour now. Been researching in 2 months, either the information im seeking costs or cant be found EVEN though its probably soo easy!!!

I live in california, and im a international student (F-1 student visa from sweden), got here through that legally and my visa wont expire until 2012. Got married to my wife a month ago (she's a permanent citizen).

Now what I am trying to do is, to change status go for citizenship etc etc.

I heard its i-485, i-765 and i-130 something if I remember correctly.

----

1. What forms do I need? adjusting status work permit etc etc etc?

2. In WHAT ORDER should the forms be sent? (cause i heard my wife should send i-130 FIRST then the other forms)

3. How long will THINGS take?

---

One's saying it takes years, one another is saying the work permit will be given after 3 months u sent the application and the greencard given after 10 months.

Please, I tried to figure this out for MONTHS...first time im taking a step and writing in a forum about it...

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

It really takes as long as it takes for them to process your information and get things done.. Specially as to how complicated the case is the longer it can take. You will likely have an interview as to your situation ( coming from a student visa )

First of all .. DO NOT LEAVE AMERICA!! if you leave you will be screwed.. to put it lightly.

Here is the guide for what you need to do, its very explanitory! which should be helpfull to you. If you need guides to fill out the actual forms the VJ website has thos as well in the example forms section!

http://www.visajourney.com/forums/index.ph...page=i130guide2

You will need a payment for the AOS which is 1010$ and also a payment for the I-130 which is 355$.