Redneck-NOVA

Positive interview experience in Fairfax, VA (Washington, DC) field office

4 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Russia
Timeline

Passed my interview today in the Fairfax, VA (aka Washington DC) office.

It was very quick and easy. Got there about 30 minutes in advance, was called in exactly at the time indicated on interview letter, on the dot. The interviewing officer was a very nice lady, very professional and polite.

First swore me in, then went over my whole application, had to change couple of things. She had to correct the spelling of my patronymic (Russian version of the middle name) from what I've been using for the past 3+ years to what I had originally transliterated from my birth certificate for the K-1 interview! Since in Russian we use a different alphabet, there is no 'right' spelling in English - depends on transliteration, so it's kind of pointless. Now that will be a pain though - means that I have to get a new DL again, which I just renewed a month ago. Oh well...

Second thing was adding my last week's Carribbean vacation to the list of trips outside the country.

Then she made me write some really simple sentence in English and read another equally simple one. Asked 6 questions from the test, I got all of them right. Don't remember the questions since I didn't really study for the test - just looked over the list quickly last night and had my wife quiz me. Knew about 90% of the answers already, the remaining 10% was pretty easy to memorize.

She didn't look at any of the massive evidence I brought, just at my DL and GC. Asked for passport too, but didn't even open it. Then she said that I was recommended for approval, but I can't get the Oath today since my GC 3rd anniversary is not until Ocotober 24th.