TomAndJiaLian

Another question about changing spouse's last name

5 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: China
Timeline

I searched the forum for this question and got lost in too many hits that didn't answer my question so please forgive me if this is answered elsewhere.

I am just getting started in this process and I think I made a mistake on our I-130 and G-325A. We were so intent on getting everything completed and all the i's crossed and t's dotted that I think we missed the time to change my wife's last name. When we filled out the forms we used her maiden name and did not think about changing it because her passport has not been updated.

Is there a way to change it without having to re-submit the I-130 and G-325A? I guess we can wait until she gets the CR-1 VISA and go from there, I'm sure it'll cost us $$$ but that's what I get for missing an important detail.

Thanks,

Tom

you can continue your papers without changing name. I wrote my married name in my I-130 and all other NVC forms but they still addressed me under my maiden name. I don't see any problem to it so long as you have a certified copy/original Marriage Certificate to present. And just inform them the truth when asked in consulate.

you can change passport to reflect her married name before getting the VISA so that they will issue the VISA under her married name. So I've read... I've just renewed my passport under my married name and the copies of my passport that I sent off to USCIS and NVC are all under my maiden name.

Just relax. Better yet, while waiting... I see that your fiance is from China... if she's not fluent in English, keep practicing to prevent any miscommunication during interview.

Good luck!

Filed: Country: Israel
Timeline
I searched the forum for this question and got lost in too many hits that didn't answer my question so please forgive me if this is answered elsewhere.