Autumnchik

financial aid for green card holders

6 posts in this topic

Okay, so as many of you know, my husband has been out of work for a year and job prospects for carpenters in our area just do not look good and are not likely to improve. So, hubby has pretty much decided to return to school and change careers. He's thinking nursing or another health care profession. Does anyone have experience in applying for financial aid as a permanent resident (not US citizen)? From what I have been reading online, permanent residents are eligible.

2e020152f8374f4fbd9014e3cc2c05fe.jpg

catcatadb20080508_-7_My%20child%20is.png

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

I got a few scholarships as a permanent resident!! I got my Associates degree in Nursing (RN) and if ya have a community college in the area that offers that, can be the cheapest route to go to get ur RN's! Some of the private colleges are very $$$$$$. Sorry not really what u were looking for!

Canadians Visiting the USA while undergoing the visa process, my free advice:

1) Always tell the TRUTH. never lie to the POE officer

2) Be confident in ur replies

3) keep ur response short and to the point, don't tell ur life story!!

4) look the POE officer in the eye when speaking to them. They are looking for people lieing and have been trained to find them!

5) Pack light! No job resumes with you

6) Bring ties to Canada (letter from employer when ur expected back at work, lease, etc etc)

7) Always be polite, being rude isn't going to get ya anywhere, and could make things worse!!

8) Have a plan in case u do get denied (be polite) It wont harm ur visa application if ur denied,that is if ur polite and didn't lie! Refer to #1

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline