mosacorp

I want to apply for a reentry permit (i-131)

5 posts in this topic

Hi. I am unsure about a couple of things and would appreciate some guidance.

1) My wife (US CITIZEN) and I recently had our i-485/i-130 interview, all went well and the officer said from that day I was a conditional resident for 2 years, that my GC should arrive in the mail in 2 weeks. Also that I can use it to reenter back in the US and my passport to travel to my country.

2) I did NOT apply for form i-131 when we did all the other froms, however there are rules saying that if I wanted to then

I would not have to pay for the i-131 (since the cost is already included in that whole AOS package and that when I did

apply, to just make copies of the i-797's that I got , and also the GC, and mail it off.

3) So, I got the "Welcome to the United States of America" letter yesterday, which was about a week after the interview.

and I am expecting the GC soon, but, my wife and I want to travel to my country in about 1.5 months to visit for a

month. I know that I should be fine with just the GC when reentering the US and my wife by my side, but I am just

want to make extra certain. Also :

- can I apply for form i-131, for a reentry form before I leave or was that just for Advanced Parole and would I have to pay the $300 something fee?

-If I can apply do I have to send in photos since they have my picture?

-How long should it take, I intend sending an expedited envelope, and I have done with all the BIOMETRICS etc.?

Thank you for your advice.

Wait for the greencard.

Since your AOS was approved, and your waiting for the greencard, (you won't have to pay for it - since you filed for the 485 - instructions state "at a later date")

Yes, if you apply now, you would need to satisfy the requirements for that form. It will be seperate from your other applications.

I would imagine it will take longer to do the AP then to wait for the greencard.