Misty1979

Help me with this argument, please!

7 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

Hi everyone,

I've been frequenting these forums for a couple years now, but haven't researched the Citizenship side of things a whole lot yet, since I didn't want to put the cart before the horse.

However...I joined the military a few months ago (I am the foreign spouse, for the record,) and shortly after joining, I heard somewhere that my Citizenship process could be sped along based on military service. From what I heard, after serving for 1 year, you can apply for citizenship.

I am currently preparing to remove conditions, so am no where near Citizenship without the military service involved.

The reason I'm desperate to obtain my Citizenship as fast as possible is: In order to qualify for the "A" school I want to go with for my rate in the Coast Guard, I need a security clearance. Currently, my security clearance has been denied twice, due to the fact alone that I am from a foreign country.

At the current rate, I should expect to be going to this school within 8-9 months, so acquiring my Citizenship ASAP is crucial in order for me to move up in the ranks, and not be the lowest on the food chain forever.

Does anyone know if this tidbit of info is true? I've asked around here at work, and even the people who are supposed to know this stuff first hand, say I have to go through the same process as everyone else. But on the same token, I looked at the Citizenship form N-400. and there is a spot on there to check off if you have military service.

I could make an Infopass appt and ask, but I figured I would run it by you guys first, and see what you thought :thumbs:

Thanks for any replies!

Sept.09/06 Married!!!

Dec.21/06 Sent I-130

Jan.04/04 Received NOA1

Feb.23/06 Sent I-129F

March06/06 USCIS Website States: "Approval Notice Sent."

March15/07 Approval notice arrives in snail mail

March 18/07 NOA1 for I-129F