aletheia

Please help!! Problem with SSN and last name change...

7 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I moved to Maryland, USA from Canada, two Octobers ago, after successfully going through the K1 Visa process. I applied for my green card soon after, and received permanent resident status with no problem this past July (didn't even need to go for an interview!). Just before I had applied for my green card, I got my Maryland ID card, at which time I was told my last name was legally changed to my husband's. I was waiting to get my SSN until after I received my EAD, but ended up putting it off until after I received my green card.

So three months ago, being a permanent resident, I finally went to apply for my SSN (especially for tax purposes). I brought in the necessary documents, and everything appeared to be fine. However, today I got a call from them saying that they've contacted Homeland Security multiple times, and my name keeps coming back as my maiden name so they can't issue me a SSN with my married name.

I don't understand how that could be since my permanent resident card is IN my married name! The woman from the Social Security office was not helpful at all, and simply told me that I must contact Homeland Security to have my name changed in order for my SSN to be issued under my married name.

Has anyone else had this problem? Does anyone know what I should do to contact Homeland Security in this case?

I greatly appreciate any help anyone can give me. This website was a lifesaver during the K1 process, as well as my AOS process.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: India
Timeline

Hi aletheia,