shanewarner

I-134 Question, regarding self-employment

6 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Australia
Timeline

Hi all,

I have a question regarding the I-134 affidavit of support and being self-employed.

Before my question, here's a quick run down of my possible situation in the next month or two:

- We just got NOA2 the other day so the packet paperwork should be coming in several weeks.

- I work as an independent contractor, but do so through a recruiting agency whom I've been with for over a year.

- The company I am working for through the recruiter has approached me, asking me to bill them directly outside of the recruiter since my contract is up with them, which I have agreed to. This would make me "self-employed", however this is still pending and don't have a concrete date as to when this is taking effect.

My question is this, if the paperwork for I-134 comes in after I have made this move to being "self-employed" and am no longer with the recruiting agency and am billing the company directly on my own, will this complicate things as far as not having a 1099 yet or any real proof of having been with them for over a year?

Seems it would be much simpler to provide proof now being with the recruiter as I have records of pay stubs and income dating all the way back to the beginning.

Sorry if that doesn't make a lot of sense, its kind of a strange situation and I tried to explain as best as possible.

Thanks,

Shane

Filed: Other Country: China
Timeline
Hi all,

I have a question regarding the I-134 affidavit of support and being self-employed.

Before my question, here's a quick run down of my possible situation in the next month or two:

- We just got NOA2 the other day so the packet paperwork should be coming in several weeks.

- I work as an independent contractor, but do so through a recruiting agency whom I've been with for over a year.