swapdude

Residency Question

16 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: India
Timeline

Hi,

I have my interview coming up on January 7 and I recently received a letter for USCIS for additional evidence needed on my case.

I got my PR in Nov 2003, I can to US for 3 days .. did the process, registered for Selective Service and went back to India in 3 days because I had my exams coming up.

I stayed out of the country for 9 months and came back to US in Aug 04 and have been here since then.

The letter from USCIS wants me to prove that I did not try to give up my Residency during that period by showing proof of home/lease agreement, utility bills, tax return, bank statements etc.

Now I do not have any of that information during that period because I came to the US just for 3 days.

What can be done ? Will my transcripts and certificates from India suffice as I was a student back then ..

Please advice

Thanks,

Filed: Country: Sri Lanka
Timeline

Swapdude, you need to show evidence that you maintained US residency while you were back in India between Nov '03 and Aug '04. The list of items the USCIS asks for will prove that you maintained residency in the US, even though you weren't physically in the country. If you did NOT maintain residency then your clock might reset to Aug 2004. This means you'll be eligible to apply for naturalization (assuming naturalizing after 5-yrs of residency) around June 2009.

N-400

11-07-08 Mailed application to VT

11-20-08 NOA1 from NBC in Missouri

12-06-08 Biometrics

01-24-09 recieve appointment for 3/25 interview

01-25-09 Mailed letter to Hartford requesting new interview date (away on 3/25 at brother's wedding)

02-12-09 Recieve letter from NBC stating they have recieved my request for new interview date

02-21-09 Recieve letter for interview on April 7th. Hartford's got it's act together!

05-08-09 Oath ceremony in New Haven CT

Removal of Conditions

11-28-07 Mailed I-751 to VT

12-12-07 NOA (date-12-07-07)