anon11235

I-864 Affidavit of support Question about Tax-Return

8 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Guatemala
Timeline

Hi, everyone, this is my first time posting on Visa Journey. I was hoping someone might be able to help me out with a question on the I-864 form. My US spouse has only recently begun working in her first job out of grad school. She is able to provide the letter of employment of course, and her income does exceed the 125% poverty line, but she does not have W-2s yet, nor has she filed returns previously since she listed as a dependent on her parents' returns. She has saving in her name that her parents have built up over the years which have been generating income.

Is it possible to request tax transcripts from the IRS for her? If so, will it be possible for her to be the sole sponsor? We would much prefer to avoid having to list her either of her parents as a joint sponsor.

Thanks a lot for any help.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Mexico
Timeline

Since she currently makes above the 125% income threshold, you could try to get the AOS approved without a joint-sponsor. I would suggest inluding as many pay check stubs as she has for her current job. The employment letter is also critical in this case. The employment letter should show that the current employment is stable and likely to continue, in other words it's not a temporary or seasonal position.

She is still obligated to send at least a 2007 Income Tax Return. Since she was a student and didn't file, include a statement in the AOS packet indicating why she was not required to file. For example, there was no income for 2007 or it was below the minimums to file. Also, make sure you include a cover letter that clearly states all these things.