Sign in to follow this  
rutro

Affidavit of Support

9 posts in this topic

Hi. I have been surfing the forums for a few days now, but I have only seen a few topics that somewhat pertain to my question, and no mention of it on guides.

I have recently proposed to my fiancee who is a citizen of the United Kingdom. The thing is, however, I am currently a student (in his last year) whose source of income is primarily student loans and part time jobs. All together, combining all of the grants, stipends, and loans I have received I have brought in around 24,000 dollars. Has anyone heard of any success in claiming student aid, such as federal and state grants and loans as income?

After I graduate this it should be easy to get a job paying at least $45-50,000. If it is not possible, do you think they will have mercy on me as I am close (essentially by the time everything gets processed) to being able to support without student aid? I have heard of this, but only in the cases of soon-to-be doctors and engineers. Has anyone had a similar experience?

Finding a co-sponsor may not be a viable option for me. :(

When do you graduate?

I would tend to think that these people don't make exceptions to the rule...my family has gone thru naturalized citizenship and believe me, there has been no mercy when it came to submitting the required paperwork, so I don't see how this k1 process would be any different. After all, your case is just another number in the scheme of all things.

AOS

2009-01-12===> Sent AOS packet via UPS
2009-01-13===> AOS packet received
2009-01-28===> NOA's received in the mail
2009-02-01===> Biometric appt received in the mail
2009-02-06===> Completed biometric appt thru walk-in
2009-02-06===> Applied for expedited AP thru the phone
2009-02-14===> Received AP in the mail
2009-02-11===> Case transferred to CSC
2009-02-23===> EAD received
2009-05-02===> Green card received in the mail, no interview done.