Cowgirl2

> My canada PR status an issue!!! along with a few other things, PLEASE HELP!

35 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

I had something similar happen to me.

My husband and I just had our interview for IR1/C1 and they requested more information regarding proof of domicile, proof of source of my funds, US tax 2008 returns, and issue with my Canadian PR status.

With my proof of domicile, we only had our lease agreement with my parents, but my husband and I being a amateur in all this didnt take anything else, thinking that was enough. I plan on sending my drivers license (do I need to send original or copy?), voters registration card, bank statements, car insurance, loan statements, credit card statements, life insurance policy payments. Will that be enough?

Source of funds issue was that the officer wanted to see where I had received my funds from. I was a student until recently so my income wasnt anything but when we got married in 2005 my father had given me a huge amt of money (200k) as a wedding gift, its in our culture to do that. He wanted to see a copy of the wire transfer/check which I didnt have. I will be sending him a copy of the transfer and also a statement from each year since 2005 stating that the moeny was always MINE.

US tax returns I didnt file because I was in school, but he said I have to file them no matter what. I'm getting that done asap.

Canadian PR status he was not happy with. He said I was trying to sit on two chairs at once or something of that sort. I told him that I have already applied for my citizenship and it has been over 6 months and should be receiving it in another 3-4 months, but he wouldnt hear any of it. He said that I have to give up my PR status. I don't know why I should have to do that if I am already elgibile for citizenship and I have already sent in the application and its being processed.