sensitive_euroman

Dual Citizenship: Netherlands/US

3 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Netherlands
Timeline

Greetings!

Don't know if this is the right place to ask - can anyone enlighten me to any problems with my son (now 15 months!) having dual citizenship of US and Netherlands. Is that possible? My wife has just got the US passport for him for when we go to the Netherlands this Christmas.

I have been doing a bit of research on this online and read so much conflicting info.

Don't know if this is the right place to ask - can anyone enlighten me to any problems with my son (now 15 months!) having dual citizenship of US and Netherlands. Is that possible? My wife has just got the US passport for him for when we go to the Netherlands this Christmas.

I have been doing a bit of research on this online and read so much conflicting info.

Okay, I'm from Finland and I'm not a lawyer but I am a political scientist so I do know something about this issue. The US accepts dual citizenship so there's no problem being a dual citizen from the American point of view. I'm not sure if the Netherlands accepts dual citizenship but they should, because there's an EU resolution mandating EU members countries to accept it. It may be restricted though (Germany for example has very restrictive dual citizenship laws, but even they are mandated by the EU resolution so they also have accepted dual citizenship).