Sherry Nguyen

Confession for an inherently anxious girl.

2 posts in this topic

Just a rant haha.

I am revising most of my forms for sending AOS and petition package. My army husband is the petitioner. And yes I am international student, like many of you here. I am also doing a PhD and is about to be in my 3rd year soon. For some reason, the past one year was exhausting for me given that I have to juggle the responsibilities of family life and full-time PhD students (research, publication, grant). I thought I almost reached the point of going crazy. I suffered from depression and decided to reach out for help. Since then,  I have frequently met with my therapists to track my progress in hope of moving forwards I guess. 

Some days, I just cried a lot and some other days, I just slept a lot. There were days I felt so guilty of making my depression known to husband and mom. I questioned whether I should “make my sufferings known” because I am not alone in this immigration journey. It’s very clear that other international students and foreign military spouses are going through the same AOS process and their will soon be filled with uncertainties. I wonder if I can voice my concern, having known that I am not even at my worst. My experience is nothing unique at all, so why should mom and hubby even care about ?— that’s what I had thought.