lilybells

CEAC asking for multiple police certificates even though it shouldn't

4 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Chile
Timeline

Hello everyone!

I recently completed the DS-260. By my estimates, I should be expected to submit THREE police certificates: one from Chile, where I was born and raised, one from the UAE where I attended university, and one from China, where I currently live. 

Throughout my university period, I studied abroad in the UK (5 months), Hong Kong (3 months), and Italy (1 month). I listed all these addresses as I was living in those locations during different times. CEAC is asking me to submit police certificates for all three of these in addition to the places I've actually lived (see screenshot)

However, according to the official webpage on travel.state.gov I should not be having to submit any of these as the time does not exceed a year, let alone 6 months, in any of those locations (see screenshot) 

Can I simply not upload them and upload a document for each of these police certificates explaining why?

Or, am I SOL and have to get all of these (the Italy one blows my mind - I was there for 30 days only!!)? 

Screen Shot 2020-06-30 at 15.04.37.png

Screen Shot 2020-06-30 at 15.06.03.png

You're entirely correct in that you don't have to provide police certificates for those stays. 

Someone else might be more experienced  in telling you how they did it, but a document confirming the dates you  moved there & total time spent there, and that it was less than 12 months, should do the trick!