JMartJr

IR1 Keep asking for more Docs

2 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: Australia
Timeline

Hello all.

I have petitioned for my wife's Green Card a while back (March 2018) and the petition was approved. I have been following the process via the NVS site and all the documentation has been accepted. Now they are asking for my proof of employment as well as proof of my assets. As I do not have a 'job' a note regarding my income and support will be made upon the interview. My wife has always been the bread winner during my time in Australia and for the past few years my only income was from when we renovated a property and sold it. As I am a builder that has always been a way to make a  "income" without having a job so I could be around to take care of the kids. 

We have a good amount of money in the bank and the rest of the cash is in the house which is currently on the market. Once that sells we will have a few years worth on saving in the bank that if we some how never gained employment stateside we could still live for 4-5 years. 

My question is, is this something to be worried about? This process has seemed to be dragging with the last response from the NVS took 6 1\2 weeks and for the 3rd time they are asking for more documentation while everything on the site has already been accepted. I haven't has a US tax return in over 3 years due to not being employed.

Other then asking for proof of my assets and employment there is nothing else needed..... for now. 

If it matters, my wife's business will still be running after we move to America which will be a source of income for the family while we get set up in the states and while I get back to work. 

Filed: EB-3 Visa Country: Germany
Timeline

Here are a few questions I think you need to answer to get better advice:

1) What is your household size? (This matters in determining the total financial requirements)