4 posts in this topic

Filed: FB-4 Visa Country: Nigeria
Timeline

Good Day! 

I have a few questions and i will really appreciate multiple answers and suggestions

I just got my visa and I intend leaving in a couple of weeks.

I have a BSC in Biochemistry in my home county and I look forward to working in my field or related filed( environmental science or toxicology) or something related.

1. Should I bring my transcript along with me if possible, hoping that my certificate and GPA might help me get a job. Or is my certificate as "useless"as they come.

2. Do I have to go to grab school before I am able to get a job because obviously I need to work and have some savings to be able to go to grad school

3. Should I hold on, on the transcript application until the job or school askes for it to be sent to them directly?

4. Do I have to start school all over or maybe have an associate degree in a science related course or some pocket courses before I can get a job

Honestly I just need to know what the chances are for me. And my next most reasonable choice of action once I get there!.

Please your responses will be highly appreciated. 

Looking forward to seeing them. 

Thanks

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Nigeria
Timeline

Hello,

I've gone to graduate school with other students from various countries around the world. Their Bachelor's degrees are valid here in the US. I would definitely bring multiple copies of your transcripts (sealed) for the sake of applying to multiple programs. I'm certain you could find a job teaching on the secondary level (middle or high school) and fund your way through school. A good friend of mine has a Bachelor in Chemistry and has taught for the last 12 years. The only thing with that is you may need a teaching license/certificate (which isn't as extensive as getting a Bachelor's degree but would require some time). If your area is short of teachers, you could also try an emergency teaching license.