fem_femme

I-864 Affidavit of Support HELP!

9 posts in this topic

Hi guys. I petition for my husband living overseas CR1. I have a problem with the affidavit of support now and I am so worried!!!! I am currently a paralegal student, so my income is through a rental (it is considered untaxed income) where I am making $10,000/year after the property taxes etc are taken out of the total $20,000 income shown on taxes. Obviously, with $10,000 income, I can not sponsor my husband. My property is in a revocable trust in my name, and I owe it alone without a mortgage. The current price is $650,000. I also have $12,500 in my checking account. I do live with both parents who are retired and their joint retirement pension income is $22,500. My question is what to do without adding anyone outside of my family? Can I handle this myself with the money in my checking account and with the $650,000 asset I own in addition ot the rental income I am getting? I heard that assets are scrutinized, self-employment and such are also not well taken unless it is W2 income. Since my parents live with me I am not sure if a retirement pension will work for the government on I-864, so has anyone included a pensioner in their I-864? Plus correct me if I am wrong but wouldn't their $$$ still not be enough for me to meet the CR1 requirement? I also heard that even if you meet the minimum requirement you can get denied? This is more worrisome for me because even if I end up at $22,000, that means that they can just deny the petition at NVC/consulate level? Can someone knowledgeable about this part of the petition advise me, please? How can I proceed with what I have?