Long Ly

I-130 F2A Bringing spouse to the US - Please help

6 posts in this topic

Hi everyone, I'm a permanent resident living in Missouri, and I'm trying to bring my wife to the US.

Currently, my parents are living in Texas, where the processing time of the I-130 form for F2A is 3 months faster than the service center that I would be allocated to if I apply in Missouri.

Moreover, in Texas, there is a legal office that my parents used to bring me to the US some time ago, which earned our trust. However, there is also an office of a (reputable?) immigration lawyer right in front of my house in Missouri.

While some of my colleagues advised against using an immigration lawyer for such a simple document, I believed that it would be better to receive help from a professional since we don't have anything useful that we could use as proof of our marriage ( No joint bank account, house, etc. However, we have dated for 6 years and maybe we can use the pictures we took as evidence, I honestly don't know.)

Please let me know your opinions regarding whether if I should apply the I-130 form for my wife in Missouri or Texas. In addition, I would appreciate it if you could let me know how long we would have to wait for my wife to receive her Visa, given that everything goes smoothly.

I have also heard that it would be difficult for a person who is being sponsored to obtain a travel visa to the US, is that correct?

Thank you all very much, I really appreciate any advice that you can give me.

Filed: F-2A Visa Country: New Zealand
Timeline

It doesn't really matter where you apply - it will likely be sent to California Service Center - they handle most F2A cases. You can use a lawyer if you want but its not necessary. If you could, please update your info like your wifes country etc so people can be of more assistance. 

Thank you for the response. I thought all 4 or 5 service centers accept F2A cases? I didn't know that all F2A cases are forwarded to California.