SilviaK

Current F-1 should I fill out I-765?

4 posts in this topic

Filed: F-1 Visa Country: Argentina
Timeline

Hi everybody,

We are just starting this process of filling concurrently AOS with the hubby (USC) and I have a couple of questions.

Q1: I am currently an F-1 PhD student and teaching assistant. I do not expect to finish my PhD until at least June 2020 so should I apply for I-765? I could not find the eligibility category (27) I fit in (I am not in OPT, nor will I be in the incoming months, I am not STEM student, I am in the Humanities field). I really did not know how to fill out this form since I am currently employed and will continue to be at my university until I finish.

Q2: Do I have to fill out I-131? It seems like it is only if you intend to travel within this year (let's say) and you know where you're going, on what date etc. I have no plans to travel anywhere outside the US. I ask because I have seen many of you fill out this form and include it in the threads about complete applications and I want to double-check.

Q3: We have not filled out the medical form because we assumed it would be requested later. I have seen that now people fill it out and send it with the application. Is this obligatory? can I wait? Just asking because this would delay the application quite a bit and I was hoping to send it this January.

Q4: My I-20 is going to expire May 2019. Do I have to renew it while I wait for the AOS? I understand it is an administrative errand but I am not sure what to do (my VISA expires the same day but that is just an entry document thus I should not worry, right?).

Thank you so much!

50 minutes ago, Silvia Kosovych said: