Boblt

Is EAD/application for EAD enough? Or is green card needed?

7 posts in this topic

I am a physician joining a training program in New York, my spouse is a US citizen, and I am anticipating my EAD in a few months which will be in time for the program.  While the EAD will allow me to start, I also will need to obtain a state license to start the program.  The state license application asks me to pick which of the following apply to me.  My question is, which of the options below apply to me?  Do I actually need the greencard, is an EAD sufficient, or is receipt for the application for the EAD/485 sufficient?  I am not clear whether option B means you need the green card approved, or just have to have submitted the application.  Or do I go with option I, assuming the fact that I have applied for EAD/AOS gives me relief from deportation.

"Federal law and the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education (8 NYCRR §59.4) limit the issuance of professional licenses, registrations  and limited permits to United States citizens or qualified aliens. To comply with Federal law and Commissioner’s regulation, you must complete this section of this form and check the appropriate box below which indicates your citizenship/immigration status.

A - A United States citizen or National.

B - An alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence in the United States.

C - An alien granted asylum under Section 208 of the Immigration and Nationality Act.

D - A refugee granted asylum under Section 207 of the Immigration and Nationality Act.

E - An alien paroled into the United States under Section 212 (d)(5) of the Immigration and Nationality Act for a period of at least 1 year.

F - An alien whose deportation is being withheld under Section 241 (b)(3) of the Immigration and Nationality Act.

G - An alien granted conditional entry pursuant to Section 203 (a)(7) of the Immigration and Nationality Act as in effect prior to April 1980.