GingerDino

Intended Occupation in the US?

11 posts in this topic

Hello!

My SO and I are currently in the process of filling out DS-260. One question is “what is your intended occupation to work in the US?” I’m still a student, and will be for another six years or so. I selected “student” and now our lawyer is wary about public charge....even though my SO will have a full-time job (we’re living abroad) and we have a co-sponsor. We have read the details on public charge, but it honestly sounds unlikely in our case. Does anyone have an experience with it? Thanks!

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

i would put student. dont lie.

you have a co sponsor and they know you cant work for a good long while anyways.

i 485, 130, EAD and AP

04/09/2019    NOA1 received/check cashed i 485 and 130 (direct adjustment)

11/7/2019      Interview- Norfolk

11/10/2019    APPROVED (notification rec'd 11/10, approval dated 11/8)

DONE FOR TWO YEARS!!! ;)

Filed everything ourselves with no RFE's or delays.

CR1 for Child under 21 (20 at time of filing)- Filed by LPR Spouse for his son

4/4/20     Mailed packet

4/12/20   NOA1 rec'd

10/14/21 (havent heard anything... when do i start to get worried?)

9/15/22 APPROVED! Now to wait for NVC and interview....

ROC

10/14/21 Mailed to AZ PO Box. Let the waiting begin. Again.

10/16/21 Received at PO Box

10/19/21 Received Text NOA1

10/23/21 Received Mailed NOA1

1 hour ago, debbiedoo said:

i would put student. dont lie.

you have a co sponsor and they know you cant work for a good long while anyways.

Thanks for answering! I’m not planning on lying, but it is true I will potentially have a part time job in order to build my resume. I’m trying to confirm if what our lawyer is saying is true or exaggerated (as the lawyer has done it in the past).